Read Bad Guy by Hannah Barnaby Mike Yamada Online

bad-guy

Sibling rivalry reaches new heights in this delightfully tongue-in-cheek picture book that’s perfect for fans of Lauren Castillo’s The Troublemaker.Being a bad guy can be lots of fun. You can trap all of the superheroes in a cage with hungry lions or sail the ocean and keep all the treasure for yourself. You can even eat your little sister’s brain…But this little bad guy iSibling rivalry reaches new heights in this delightfully tongue-in-cheek picture book that’s perfect for fans of Lauren Castillo’s The Troublemaker.Being a bad guy can be lots of fun. You can trap all of the superheroes in a cage with hungry lions or sail the ocean and keep all the treasure for yourself. You can even eat your little sister’s brain…But this little bad guy is about to learn a valuable lesson from an unlikely culprit.Hannah Barnaby’s humor and spare text are brought to life by Mike Yamada’s bold illustrations in this charming picture book about the special bond between brothers and sisters....

Title : Bad Guy
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781481460101
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 32 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Bad Guy Reviews

  • Jasmine
    2018-11-01 18:41

    In which our hero learns a hard lesson, which is that you should always assume that your enemies have ALSO been reading Sun Tzu.

  • Cindy Mitchell *Kiss the Book*
    2018-11-15 20:40

    Barnaby, Hannah Bad Guy, PICTURE BOOK. Simon, 2017. $18.Top Notch illustrations follow the story of a little boy who is a self-professed bad guy. He eats astronauts, captures superheroes, and even runs the sheriff out of town. He is pretty good at the library but it’s only because he is concentrating on reading books to help out his bad guy skills. But this little boy thinks only guys can be bad, but he has another thing coming.This book has incredibly darling and sharable illustrations! While I love a good bad guy (or gal) I didn’t like how unrepentant he was –‘bad guys don’t say they are sorry’, is not a great lesson for young readers. While the ending is really funny, I think working with children every day has made the whole ‘I can do what I want, when I want, to who I want’ behavior in children –not so funny to me. PRE-K, EL(K-3)–OPTIONAL. Stephanie Elementary School Librarian & Authorhttps://kissthebook.blogspot.com/2017...

  • Jana
    2018-10-24 17:23

    This picture book takes a fun look at sibling rivalry through the eyes of a naughty little boy with a wild imagination. The little guy in this story likes to think that he's a bad guy, a great villain. He spends his play time trapping super heroes in a cage, stealing treasure and burying it, and plotting his younger sister's demise. The vibrant illustrations that come from someone with a background in movie animation make the narrative even more entertaining, especially when you get to the twists at the end. One of the twists is very subtle, and I found myself going back over it several times and even had my husband go over it! This one would be a terrific way to work on inferencing skills with young readers!

  • Jessica Petersen
    2018-10-17 18:23

    I loved the idea of this book from the first moment I saw the cover, and it did not disappoint! It takes us into the imaginative play world of a self-identified "bad guy" -- we all know kids who love to act the part of the villain from their favorite movies and books! And for my kid, who always wants to be the hero, it was a great way to increase his understanding of the kids who do enjoy being the bad guy during play. I don't want to spoil the ending, but it's great...love the illustrations, too!

  • Gina Perry
    2018-11-05 12:22

    This is an epic picture book. BAD GUY is a fabulous, wicked read aloud. I can't say enough about books that paint childhood with a realistic, yet fantastical paintbrush. Look for themes of bad behavior and sibling rivalry. The narrative voice and the illustrations are a perfect match. BAD GUY has a surprise twist that you may or not see coming, but the grand adventure is going back for a reread and finding all the clues to that twist and other sub-narratives. I've read it a bunch of times with my kids - I don't see how you can read it just once, you will be missing SO much.

  • Sheri
    2018-11-05 13:24

    This story was a fun take on a brother who is the bad guy and why and what happens at the end that is a twist. It is fun with events from a child's perspective of things and adults not involved. My children loved the inside cover pages and pointed out the two icons for each child in the story. Interesting what reading aloud to children and what they found after each of 5 readings in two days. They loved the details the illustrator made.

  • Gaia Cornwall
    2018-11-07 12:23

    This one had my three year old cackling, thoroughly enjoying a story that celebrates and revels in being the "Bad Guy". I can't quite put my finger on it, but Yamada's illustrations remind me of all my favorite Disney villains– Cruella De Vil, Maleficent... He certainly shares their glee and determination! I love how Barnaby flips the "Bad Guy" narrative on its head with a twist ending we didn't see coming. (Also, note the mom's clever narrative woven in visually in the background...Sneaky!)

  • Heather Preusser
    2018-10-24 14:20

    This Pixar-esque picture book does a wonderful job exploring what it means to be "bad": it means trapping all the superheros in a laundry-basket-like cage, it means eating your sister's spaghetti brain, and it means going to the library and checking out books titled KNOT GOOD. It also means subverting expectations in wonderful, unexpected ways.

  • Lynn
    2018-10-23 14:16

    This bad buy shows us his bad behavior on each day of the week.Clever ending even took me by surprise! I look forward to reading this aloud to my students.Full color illustrations fill the pages with details. Don't miss the cover under the dust jacket!Great book to show supporting details. "I am a bad guy." Then each page shows another reason why.

  • Joy Keller
    2018-10-17 20:45

    I love a book where the pictures and words have equal weight in telling the story! In BAD GUY, a young boy describes all the ways in which he's the "bad guy," but Yamada's illustrations hint that someone else is hatching a sinister plot. My kids loved this and got quite a chuckle from the ending...as did I!

  • Jillian Heise
    2018-11-14 13:28

    Would be fun to read aloud. Kids will enjoy seeing the shenanigans of the "bad guy" brother. I very much appreciated the (view spoiler)[girl power/don't underestimate us/gender role reversal message at the end (hide spoiler)]. Good tie-ins with superhero/villain tropes.

  • Ariel
    2018-10-22 14:23

    Bad guys are sneaky, greedy, and well, bad. But they're also resourceful, ambitious (being bad is hard work!), and it turns out, respectful when they meet their match. This book is full of silly fun, with perfectly matched, action-filled illustrations.

  • Jason Gallaher
    2018-11-03 19:31

    I love this whole concept of a little bad guy in the making, and that a bad guy can come in unlikely forms. Also, you have got to take off the jacket to look at the cover illustrations underneath! So funny!

  • Lynne
    2018-10-23 12:32

    Love the humor in this story! As you read this book with your little ones, be sure that they are looking at the illustrations so that they are in on the joke! Can't wait to use this one with a story time.

  • Kerri Kokias
    2018-11-08 19:22

    Fun story about a mischievous and imaginative child. Great surprise ending and best end papers ever!

  • Alyssa Gudenburr
    2018-10-26 12:22

    I know everyone loves this book but I didn't like it. For me it encouraged sibling rivalry and to be mean to your sibling.

  • Theresa
    2018-11-11 15:26

    My kids loved this one! So much to talk about and look at in the pictures. And gotta love the ending!

  • Alison Goldberg
    2018-10-31 15:20

    A clever picture book about imaginative play, mischief, and sibling rivalry. Mike Yamada's action-packed illustrations add many fun details to the story.

  • Jennifer
    2018-10-28 15:28

    It had me hooked from the first page because as we all know every villain needs a white, fluffy cat.

  • Mary Lee
    2018-10-20 19:31

    Fun patterns that switch, and a gender surprise at the end!

  • Awjtf
    2018-11-06 19:46

    I lied this book!

  • Rebecca Ann
    2018-10-20 12:39

    Lots of little kids will love this story about being a "bad guy". I adored the twist ending!

  • Casandria
    2018-10-22 12:34

    Great for a storytime about siblings

  • Kevin Summers
    2018-11-12 16:19

    The ending has a very good twist.

  • Emma Otheguy
    2018-10-22 12:20

    Love this laugh-out-loud sibling story! If your kid likes to be sneaky, they will love this book.

  • Syntha Green
    2018-10-23 19:39

    This book is amazingly delightful. Score one for female empowerment as well.

  • Jannie Ho
    2018-11-05 13:21

    A fun read with big plans to be BAD! My favorite is the second to last page with the little sister's orange popsicle stained winning smile. A great story to read over and over again.

  • Jacqui
    2018-10-25 16:35

    3.5 subtle girl power

  • Lisa Delacruz
    2018-11-09 15:29

    Loved this

  • Jennifer
    2018-11-10 16:36

    Hm.. I'm not sure how I feel about this book. There are no consequences for the bad guy (or girl).