Read Wrede on Writing: Tips, Hints, and Opinions on Writing by Patricia C. Wrede Online

wrede-on-writing-tips-hints-and-opinions-on-writing

How do I turn an idea into a novel? How do I build a character? How do I decide how to tell a story?Patricia C. Wrede has been a stalwart of the sci-fi/fantasy world for decades, publishing dozens of books across multiple series, storming bestseller lists and corralling accolades from critics and fans alike. Now, with brilliant insight and a sparkling wit, Wrede shows begiHow do I turn an idea into a novel? How do I build a character? How do I decide how to tell a story?Patricia C. Wrede has been a stalwart of the sci-fi/fantasy world for decades, publishing dozens of books across multiple series, storming bestseller lists and corralling accolades from critics and fans alike. Now, with brilliant insight and a sparkling wit, Wrede shows beginning writers the ropes in WREDE ON WRITING. How do I find the time to write? How do I decide when a book is finished? How do I get my book published?Wrede tackles all issues for writers, from the basic how-to’s to the more advanced topics on character development and worldbuilding. In her conversational tone, she gives writers the tips and tricks her experience has brought. After WREDE ON WRITING, authors will have the knowledge to put their tools to better use. Thinking of starting a book? Trying to finish one? WREDE ON WRITING will guide you towards that superior draft to send to agents, to publishers, and to readers.How do I calculate royalties? How do I plan my finances as an author? How do I write as a career?Before she became a successful full-time writer, Patricia C. Wrede worked in finance, and she also provides for authors an extensive look at how to manage the money—from royalties to determining the financial potential of your next project, Wrede provides authors with deep insight into the business of writing. A brilliant guide from a literary stalwart, WREDE ON WRITING is the book everyone with a novel under their beds or inside their heads should read....

Title : Wrede on Writing: Tips, Hints, and Opinions on Writing
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781626812222
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 246 Pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Wrede on Writing: Tips, Hints, and Opinions on Writing Reviews

  • Dan Schwent
    2018-09-20 17:02

    Wrede on Writing is a book on writing by Patricia C. Wrede.This was a Netgalley find.Normally, I look upon books about writing by writers I've never heard of in the same light as telephone psychics offering me the winning lottery numbers. If the writer in question is so good, why aren't they too busy cranking out best sellers to write a book about writing? From the opening page, Wrede had me hooked.Maybe it was the relaxed tone. Maybe it was her clear grasp of what it takes to go into a novel. Or maybe it was the book's underlying philosophy of "There is no One Way. Figure out what works for you and do that."Unlike a lot of other writing books, at no point did I feel like the writer was trying to force me into using his or her writing methods. It reads like a beloved aunt is guiding me through the novel writing process but giving me enough space to do what I want.Not only does Wrede reveal what has and hasn't worked for her over the years, she also relates anecdotes from other writers. She also shares examples from her own writing and that of other authors to illustrate her points.Wrede covers a pretty wide range of topics, like viewpoints, pace, worldbuilding, outlining, even verb tenses. She even goes into the business end of things, even cryptic things like queries and agents, all the while reminding the reader that not all writers are the same and not all advice is going to work for every writer.I guess the bottom line is get a good grasp of the English (or whichever) language, figure out what works for you, and do that. It should be obvious advice but it was really refreshing in a writing book.Unless this book takes a nosedive in the little bit I have left, four out of five stars.

  • Jeannie Zelos
    2018-08-27 20:02

    Wrede on Writing: Tips, Hints, and Opinions on Writing .Patricia C. Wrede Review from Jeannie Zelos Book Reviews. Like many many people I've always had a desire to write – many years ago I even started one of those online writing classes...but to be honest even I was bored reading what I’d written, so the rejection slips were no surprise. Looking back though I can see one huge mistake – I’d followed the course instructions to write short stories and articles, but I never read those, I love to read but novellas and short stories don't work for me, so how on earth did I think I could write them? Well, I’ve never got any further but seeing this book for review brought back that desire and I hoped I could learn from it. Like most would be writers I’ve no idea where to start, and so never actually get further than a few vague plots or snippets of what a want to write. Anyway I've not read this cover to cover, but browsed through looking for what I need. And its full of such useful and encouraging information about where to start – not a 1-10 steps, but a series of ideas and the advice there isn't a blue print but try this, or this, or this :) Then having thought about where to start its got so much useful information on the actuality – the character building, creating worlds both real and fantasy, plotting and pitfalls. It's just so easy to read and understand. I felt as if Patricia was at my shoulder giving advice. Then having written your best-seller (!!) she advises about such necessary – especially in today’s market, things to do like contacting agents and publishers, marketing, the finance side – and unless you're writing just to write and not to make money that’s essential. Looking back to my own experiences I can see so well where I went wrong, the acid test is will I manage to do it better this time round? Well, armed with this book I feel much more confident, just need to squeeze a few more hours in the day :) .... Where before I felt as if I was floundering in the dark, now I feel that I’ve some solid references for when I get stuck. Not to spoon feed me an answer, but to show me where to look next, how to research, what to add and really, really important – what to leave out. As a reader/reviewer I’ve read too many books that contain whole chapters that when I get to the end I think “ what happened to/why was that mentioned/how did x get out of that?” you know – the stuff that’s in the book but doesn't add to the plot, the characters, the background, and is just filler and fluff taking up pages and reading time and is wasted effort for both reader and writer really. Somewhere in the beginning Patricia quotes advice given to her – and it's really apt to what I’ve read too many times. Three things a scene can do “1) advance the plot 2) explain the back story 3) deepen the characterisation. “ If it doesn’t do any of those it isn't needed. A skim through the index gives an idea of just how comprehensive this book is, it really does have a chapter about almost everything writers need to know, I reckon its should be the Writing Bible of all would be authors. At £3.14 for 263 pages its a bargain. No fluff, no unnecessary fillers just good solid advice and research tools. Stars: fiveARC supplied via Netgalley

  • Mary Catelli
    2018-09-25 21:00

    Patricia C. Wrede on all sorts of writing topics.What the presence of a codfish dinner far inland means for your world-building. How the big issue with not caring about your grammar is not that it will mean automatic rejection (though it will), but that you have thrown away the chance to use run-ons or sentence fragments in a handful of places where they will have dramatic impact, because you are scattering them everywhere. How the grammar that you learned in school was good as far as it went, but it's the equivalent of learning to build blocky things in Legos; to be a writer, you want to go on and figure out how to put together words and sentences and paragraphs and scenes more artfully than that. (You even want to consider the letters, which bring in the sound, though you have less flexibility there, since you can't choose the spelling of a word.) The overemphasis on hooks and the importance of their being accurate. Business plans for writers.And much more

  • Cindy
    2018-08-28 16:44

    Patricia C. Wrede - Wrede on Writing - Tips, Hints, and Opinions on WritingAnyone who has read Wrede’s books knows she can write. (See the bibliography of her novels at the end of this article, and it does not include her many short stories.) She does it all – beautiful prose, exciting plots, humorous touches, characters with depth and feelings. And those are all good things; but can she write about writing? The answer is a resounding “YES!”I’ve been following her blog for a while now and have seen some of these articles in an earlier version. The ones I recognized had some minor re-writing and the articles have been placed in a logical progression for the new writer: leading from the obvious ‘Getting Started’ through writing techniques and on into the business of being a writer. She gives good, sturdy, nuts-and-bolts kind of advice.I loved her honesty. “In my experience, most people don’t actually want to write a book; what they want is to have written a book (preferably without spending much in the way of time or effort). Even the ones who really do want to write a book are probably underestimating just how long it’s going to take and how sick of it they’re going to get before they finish.” - So You Want to Write a Book segmentShe provides sound guidance about things that the writer may never have considered, and follows up with clear examples:“Writing a short story is not the same as writing a novel. Oh, you need similar skills—knowing how to write dialogue, for instance—but there are fundamental differences that blindside an awful lot of writers who think that because they’ve learned how to write one, writing the other will just be more of the same.” - Cinderella at the Rock Concert segmentShe approaches the business of writing as a beginning, not a happily ever after ending. Undoubtedly this is partly because of her background – she has her MBA and was a financial analyst and accountant at one time – and probably from watching the train wrecks of some other authors’ careers due to their lack of understanding of the business.“Unfortunately, for most writers, on-the-job training is all they ever get when it comes to the business end of things. (Quite a few don’t even want that much, and reality tends to be a nasty shock for them, because if you are writing and selling your stories, or hope to do so, you’re running a business whether you like it or not.)” - The Business of Writing segmentNew writers? This is a great book to start you on your way and help you keep on track. Not-so-new writers? This is a great book to keep as a reference for those knotty problems we all face from time-to-time. Either way the book is a keeper…The "Lyra" Series:• SHADOW MAGIC• DAUGHTER OF WITCHES• THE HARP OF IMACH THYSSEL• CAUGHT IN CRYSTAL• THE RAVEN RINGThe Chronicles of the Enchanted Forest:• DEALING WITH DRAGONS, • SEARCHING FOR DRAGONS• CALLING ON DRAGONS• TALKING TO DRAGONSRegency FantasyThe Kate and Cecy books:• SORCERY AND CECELIA• THE GRAND TOUR• THE MISLAID MAGICIANThe Mairelon books:• MAIRELON THE MAGICIAN• MAGICIAN'S WARDFrontier Magic:• THIRTEENTH CHILD• ACROSS THE GREAT BARRIER• THE FAR WESTStandalones:• THE SEVEN TOWERS• SNOW WHITE AND ROSE REDCopy received from Netgalley and publisher for an honest review.

  • Eric
    2018-09-02 17:48

    I received the book for free through Goodreads First Reads.I was a little worried about Wrede on Writing: Tips, Hints, and Opinions on Writing after reading the first sentence: "What writers need to know before they start writing:" with a list of items and parenthetical questions. It just seemed like a formulaic approach to writing with the idea of a template for every story. But Patricia Wrede actually provides the gamut of writing elements that go into crafting a good story in short, digestible topics. The book is a wealth of helpful tips and useful guidance on the writing process and addressing common writers' problems.Wrede takes a very matter-of-fact approach in the book and uses many (and I mean [i]many[/i]) little sections ranging from the "Where Do You Get Your Ideas" to "Information and How to Dump It" to "Deadlines." At first it seemed choppy with super short tips, but gradually I got used to her style and enjoyed the quick treatment of each element. By the end I thought it was a great treatment of the topic, providing just enough detail on the topics with a real world viewpoint. Little things, like creating an entire story out of a grocery shopping list, highlight Wrede's ability to approach writing as both a functional process and a creative endeavor.I think this would be a great book for any aspiring or current writer to assist with the overall process or specific problems. Wrede doesn't approach writing with a professorial intent, but rather like a friendly colleague giving both useful advice and homey wisdom.

  • Lark of The Bookwyrm's Hoard
    2018-09-22 16:44

    Review originally published at The Bookwyrm's Hoard.Patricia Wrede's new book on writing offers practical, commonsense advice for fiction writers, all of it with the underlying mantra, "there is no One True Way." There are very few hard-and-fast rules here, but lots of sage advice, plenty of humor and delightful examples, a few friendly warnings, and several dollops of reassurance -- much of it taken from her blog. Wrede tackles the nuts and bolts of writing fiction, from the need for good grammar, accurate spelling, and a paucity of typos in work you submit, to the usual suspects of plot, characterization, setting, point of view, and even pacing. She talks about the building blocks of sounds, words, sentences, and paragraphs; discusses structure, worldbuilding, transitions, flashbacks, and other challenges; talks about getting started, finding (or learning to find) ideas, and writer's block; and suggests ways to build your writing skills. There's also an extensive section on the business side of writing, something too many writing guides neglect. From query letters and submissions to finding an agent to managing your backlist and your long-term career and even working in collaboration, Wrede lets you know what you should be aware of. While not a substitute for specialized books on (for instance) the basic rules of English or specific suggestions for SF or fantasy worldbuilding, Wrede on Writing is one of the best general books on writing I've come across. It should be on every aspiring writer's shelves.FTC disclosure: I received a review copy from the publisher. All opinions are entirely my own.

  • Rose
    2018-09-02 16:42

    Invaluable resource on writing from Patricia C. Wrede. She approaches writing in a very practical, reflective progression that I'll admit inspired me as I read through the narrative. She doesn't give you exercises to do (not being a fan of the method personally), but rather she gives short talking points per section on things that are pertinent to the writing life. It flows very well, is easy to understand and follow while being encouraging to the writer perusing the work.The book is organized into three sections: "Getting Started", "Not So Basics", and "The Business Side".I think this is the kind of writing guide that could be perused either by the novice or the veteran writer. Some sections, like the "Getting Started" part, will be more useful to the former, but there are aspects that writers of any level of expertise can take when working on their projects. I will certainly frequent this as a guide in my own writing pursuits.Overall score: 5/5 starsNote: I received this as an ARC from NetGalley, from the publisher Diversion Books.

  • Ms. N. Williams
    2018-09-01 22:51

    As a teacher of writing, I can't help from reading the occasional book about the craft. Patricia C. Wrede wastes no time in getting right to the point with this book of tips and hints about getting published. She gives specific information about how long it realistically takes to have a manuscript published (roughly 1-3 years), what to look for in an agent (common ground and ethics), how to approach deadlines, how to make and manage a living as an author, among many other tips. There were some instances where her chapters were a little redundant, however the advice she imparts to hopeful writers feels very feasible. In the end, beyond all of her personal examples and encouragement, she gives the best advice that any writer should hear: "just write."

  • Heather
    2018-09-27 00:04

    I love Wrede's novels and her short stories (and I'm normally not a huge fan of short stories). Her book on writing is fun and easy to read. She gives good advice on a range of topics. Is it the only writing book you'll ever need? No. And it's certainly not a step by step how-to. But she takes the (often conflicting) writing advice of other books and puts it into perspective so you know what kinds of options you should consider, but not to feel guilty about not taking advice that doesn't work for you. It's both a good starting point for beginners to know what they're getting themselves into, and a fun read for writers who've been at it awhile and want another writer's valued opinion on all this writing stuff and what's really important. All in all a good read.

  • Eileen Troemel
    2018-08-31 21:52

    Wrede provides a realistic look at book writing. She talks about what it takes and how much work it is. If you like her novels, you will like the humor and conversational tone of this book. It offers a good place for the beginner and even the more advanced writer to get some great tips about the publishing industry. The one area she doesn't speak at length about is self-publishing. While she mentions it, she doesn't go into detail. This is probably because she hasn't been through that experience. Overall if you are looking for a guide on traditional publishing this is an easy and enjoyable read with some insightful tips that will either scare you off writing (for it isn't for the faint of heart) or it will prepare you for the path you are considering.

  • Adeselna
    2018-09-07 22:58

    Full review:http://illusionarypleasure.wordpress....Wrede on Writing is an excellent book for authors who are about to go on an adventure towards the world of writing. Wrede’s writing style is easy to follow and to take notes. This books pretty much clears the major aspects on writing. The only negative aspect I found was the lack of questions to actually guide the author. I tend to plot and create better if I am asked questions. Even if Wrede guidelines were clear and easy to follow, some questions for authors to reflect upon their own work would be perfect and worth the five stars.

  • Kasey Cocoa
    2018-09-22 19:53

    Written as though by someone you already know, easy enough to read without feeling like you're being told " Do it this way or you're doing it all wrong!"Still, it felt like I was reading a well compiled series of blog posts. I'm sure there will be an aspiring author who might get something important from this.A free copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest unbiased review. Read more reviews, author interviews and enter giveaways on my blog.

  • Artur
    2018-08-29 19:40

    This is not the kind of writing books that I like best (those would be the ones that put less emphasis on advice, more on leaving you inspired, like Bradbury’s “Zen in the Art of Writing”) – so I’m putting it down for now, even though all the advice is pretty good and I’m sure I’ll be dipping in and out and read it in full one day.

  • Prasanna
    2018-09-16 00:41

    The book is an excellent resource for writers stepping into writing their first novel or short stories. Other than some basic questions like about getting ideas, the book also talks about more technical issues relating to developing a story and the differences between approach to a short story and a novel.

  • Lila
    2018-09-08 22:48

    Good, but more for writing *just* beginning on their journey. Did seem like a lot of copy/paste from her blog and one section in particular where there was no spelling/grammar checking before publication.

  • Rabbit {Paint me like one of your 19th century gothic heroines!}
    2018-09-01 20:43

    Disclaimer: This ARC was given to me for free in exchange for an honest review from Netgalley.I really found this book both enlightening and helpful. She recommends what has worked for her, regardless if it goes against traditional advice.

  • Elizabeth
    2018-09-22 20:57

    Clear, straightforward, thorough, and helpful. Wrede knows what she is talking about from her experience as a writer as well as from being a fervent researcher and big time reader. No cutesy bits here.

  • Linda
    2018-08-30 19:56

    love The Enchanted Forest Chronicles and love her blog, so i really liked her book of writing advice as well!

  • Meredith
    2018-09-13 17:37

    Brief sections on all sorts of writing/story/character/setting/etc related topics, similar to other writing books I've read.My favorite part was the last third, on the business side. None of the writing books I've read say anything about this.

  • Karie
    2018-09-10 21:05

    To me, this reads like a textbook, which is why it took me so long to finish! But it's light-hearted as well as down to earth, and will make a great reference come time NaNoWriMo time.

  • Sophia
    2018-09-14 17:00

    Very useful - no-nonsense, no 'fairy-dust' advice for writers, from a writer of fantasy.

  • Eric Jackson
    2018-08-27 00:50

    I am encouraged. Off I go. Thanks Patricia!

  • Frances
    2018-09-19 22:46

    This was a very informative read. I enjoyed Wrede's conversational style of dealing out advice